top of page
  • Writer's pictureSamantha Jean

FAST RESULTS: SKINCARE ROUTINE FOR SENSITIVE, ACNE-PRONE SKIN

My skincare journey started like everyone else, back in middle school with drugstore product such as Neutrogena and Clean & Clear. Then when I started college and started understanding makeup and skincare a lot better, I graduated to high end skincare, Clinique. This brand definitely helped make my skin clear up my acne and skin tone. Yet even with the sensitive formula, it made my skin feel a tight, burning sensation.


While working at the Cedar Falls Tourism and Visitors Bureau my senior year in college, I had to look into local businesses. One of them so happened to be a company called Root. Based out of Waverly, IA, this locally owned business creates affordable makeup, brushes, skincare, hair and home cleaning products, and essential oils that are organic, gluten-free, vegan, and natural mineral. For a small business that's quite a wide variety of products they give customers around the world (YES they ship internationally).


I would consider my skin acne-prone, sensitive, and dry. I typically get acne on my chin, around my jawline and both sides of my face.


Here is my everyday natural, organic, non-toxic skincare routine.

(click product's photo's below to purchase all the products mentioned)



(MY DAY AND NIGHT ROUTINE)


STEP ONE:

FRESH FACE GRAPEFRUIT + CHARCOAL CLEARING CLEANSER

$23.00

This cleanser is non-foaming, more of a pure liquid formula. With many of Root's products, they do not add fillers, such as water, so a little goes a long way! What I love most about this product is that after using, it does not feel as if it stripped everything from my face as well as not giving me a tight feeling on my skin. Depending on the day, I will either apply this with either Root's Pretty Polishing Mitt, (which is for more exfoliating) or a silicone facial scrub (much softer to the skin). I typically do not use my fingers because I personally do not feel my fingers get all the dirt out of my pores as well as a tool does.


The way you use this product is the same as any other facial cleanser. First, get your skin wet. Then shake the bottle well and apply the all over for about a minutes. Finally, rinse it off your face and dry with a towel in a tapping motion.



STEP TWO:

ORGANIC PEPPERMINT + WILLOW BARK CLARIFYING TONER

$18.00

Many people ask "what does toner even do for me?". Really what you should ask is "what can a toner not do?"! Toners help reduce the size of pores after cleaning them out, it removes impurities and contamination from the environment that your skin absorbed, it can restore your pH balance, and asks as a moisturizer for your skin after the cleansing process.

The first time I ever used a toner, it was with Clinique. I used the one meant for dry skin, yet every time I used it, my skin instantly felt as if it was burning. At the time I thought this meant it was working and should just accept the fact that every night I suffer.


After reading more into makeup and skincare, it should NEVER feel that it should burn or irritate your skin. It should be washed off immediately and should not be used again due to it harming your skin. I learned just because it had a lot of reviews online and it worked for many people, it doesn't work for all.


Once I started on Root's skincare routine, this was one of the first products I bought when my collections had only 3 items (the cleanser, toner, and moisturizer). They offer two different ones, one with lavender and one with peppermint (as shown above). Lavender is costs more for $22.00 and is more calming to the skin. The peppermint one is better for people with larger pores and have acne-prone skin. Either way, I would not skip out on toner ever again when having a skincare regime. It does too many positive properties to leave out!


To apply, take a cotton pad and add some toner to it. Rub around entire face to your hearts desire. I recommend really concentrating on areas with large pores.



STEP THREE:

ANTIOXIDANT BOOST POMEGRANATE + BLUE ALGAE REVIVE EYE CREAM

$18.00

Even though I am only twenty-three years old, I have already started using eye creams. Basically,

the tissue surrounding your eyes is thinner and more delicate than the rest of your face's skin. So even at a young age, you should use a moisturizer made specially for your eye region. Eye creams also aid in reducing puffiness, fine lines (with the helping power of pomegranate), and dark circles. I will testify to the courts that I can physically see and feel a difference in my eye region when I do not use this product. It is something that I cannot live without anymore and everyone should start at a young age or ASAP.




STEP FOUR NIGHT ROUTINE:

BEAUTY SLEEP ORIGINAL ARGAN + HELICHRYSUM PERFECTING SERUM

$18.00 - $63.00


OMG YES, YES, YES!!! If anyone loves Root, they will also tell you this is one of their die-hard favorite products of all time! This is their brands #1 selling skincare product. Now I say this is as part of the night routine since it is a oil serum and is extremely hydrating. Whether your skin is

oily, dry, aging, or normal, you'd want to add this in. It helps balance your oil production and adds hydration while doing so. This is what Root says this product does for your skin,


"... to deeply moisturize while encouraging cell regeneration, reducing fine lines & helping soothe acne, eczema & psoriasis with antioxidant & anti-inflammatory properties. "


When I first got this product, I was getting it in the .4 oz bottle. But now that I know how much I love this, I splurge and buy it in the bulk size. you can stop your nightly routine after this serum if desired. Or you can add some moisturizer on top after like I which I will explain next.



STEP FOUR DAY ROUTINE (ALSO) STEP FIVE AFTER SERUM:

CALMING COMPLEXION LAVENDER + APRICOT SOOTHING MOISTURIZER

$16.00


Well here we are! a product almost everyone on this planet uses, a facial moisturizer. I;m not going to say this is super special and different than any other face moisturizer since it does the same job as any others, but it is a fantastic, affordable natural, non-toxic, and organic option.


The reason why I have it as two steps is because at night, after I use the serum, I will them add this on my face and be done! This is just to add another layer of moisturizer to my face overnight.


In the morning, I do not use the serum and instead use just this all over to moisten my face and walk out the door!



(ADDITIONAL PRODUCTS)


The following products are not always apart of my everyday skin routine, but I use them once week or when desired.


ORGANIC COCONUT + PEPPERMINT SUGAR SCRUB

$12.00



This facial scrub I use before the cleanser, to help exfoliate my skin. Such as the moisturizer, there is nothing about this that makes it extremely different than other exfoliates except that it is all natural, non-toxic, and organic. Also, this product only has 4 ingredients which is pretty neat.







PRETTY MIST ORGANIC ROSE OTTO + HELICHRYSUM RESTORING FACIAL MIST

$24.00


This mist is a new found love of mine! I typically use this after adding toner to my skin, as an

illuminating setting spray, or just a hydrating mist. In the middle of the day, I will use this instead of adding more moisturizer to my face for a quick pick-me-up or a lazy Sunday when I don't feel like doing all the steps I typically do.


This product comes in 3 different types. The Rose Otto aids in anti-aging ($24), lime + peppermint helps with acne-prone skin and reducing the size of pores ($20), and the green tea + hibiscus calms and soothes sensitive skin ($20).




(DON'T WANT TO PURCHASE A LOT?)


PURE GLOW JASMINE + GRAPEFRUIT ORGANIC CLEANSING BALM

$26.00



I PROMISE this is the last product I'll be telling you to add to your skincare routine. This cleansing balm is less than a month old and is a massive 'must have' in the Root community. Similar to the Clinique's Take The Day Off Cleansing Balm ($30.00), this product removes makeup, cleanses and hydrates the skin. If you do not want to purchase every single product listed above, this is truly a one-stop-shop skincare product that everyone should have.


You might be thinking, "won't a balm make my skin feel greasy after taking my makeup off?". My answer to this is no it will not! While rubbing it all over your makeup, it dissolves it while also moisturizing your face. This product comes in 2 options. the one shown above is jasmine + grapefruit with the cost of $26.00. The second option is called True Blend ($22.00) and is the unscented version and is considered a Beauty Balm. The main difference is the beauty balm is meant for you to mix your favorite essential oil.


How does this balm work then? Well you take about a teaspoon and warm it up with your fingers. Then, rub all over your face to remove makeup and leave the eyes for last (it gets really messy with the mascara, eyeliner, and eyeshadow coming off). Once done, rinse your face off with warm water and pat it dry. If you fell it didn't get all the product off, you only have to repeat this process once more to get the best results. I personally have never had to do this twice, it gets all the makeup off.

18 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page