top of page
  • Writer's pictureSamantha Jean

MUST HAVE 2019 EYESHADOW PALETTES UNDER $30

Since 2014, the makeup world has grown exponentially. More and more women and men are looking for makeup palettes that not only give them the 'everyday' look, but also inspires them to go outside their comfort zone and play with colors. I have put a list together of my top eyeshadow palettes choices of 2019 that are under $30!


*Whenever using eyeshadow, for the best color pay off you will need a base for it to stick to. This can be concealer, foundation, or a product made for eyelids (such as the Mac Cosmetics Paint Pot).


BEST COLOR PALETTE

MORPHE X JAMES CHARLES MINI PALETTE

$26.00, sold at Ulta and morphe.com


This palette literally has every color under the rainbow to create not only subtle, everyday looks, but also those rainbow moments when you want to be that pot of gold at the end of the rainbow. This is one of the most popular, highly desired palettes of 2019.


I personally own the original size palette (retail $39.00), but this is a more affordable option to give as a Christmas present. This is my go-to palette when I am wanting to make those more creative, colorful look during holidays. The pan size on these shades are extremely small, about the size if a penny.


When it comes to Morphe eyeshadow palettes, I have only enjoyed the product payoff of their colabs (James Charles, Jaclyn Hill, Bretman Rock, and Jeffree Star). Now I will say that I have not tested their newer products that they have recently launched so my opinion could definitely change if they have updated their formula.



BEST HIGH END PALETTE

HUDA BEAUTY NUDE OBSESSIONS COLLECTION

$29.00, sold at Sephora and shophudabeauty.com


Huda Beauty has made its mark in the beauty community by popularizing the mini palette. Starting with their classic Beauty Obsessions collection, they have now expanded with their Neon Obsessions and now the Nude Obsessions. This collections has 3 palettes that are meant to correspond with your skin pigmentation, light, medium, and deep. Each containing 4 glitter and metallic shades and 5 matte shades.


I personally have very fair skin, so I purchased the Nude Light palette. When applying with a brush, I noticed that it came up more of a light, sheer color than a bold pigment that Huda is known for. Applying with your finger gives a much richer color payoff and you should always apply with your finger with glitter, shimmer, and metallic shades. I am assuming that Huda did this on purpose to go along with the 'nude' look with barely there, flawless color.



BEST EVERYDAY PALETTE

COLOURPOP TRULY MADLY DEEPLY PALETTE

$23.00, sold at Ulta and colourpop.com


I am OBSESSED with anything made by Colourpop! My first palette from them was the 'yes, please!' palette, which launched in 2017, and took the beauty community as a major contributor since. Colourpop is known for their incredibly affordable, high quality products and I can testify to this! Their iconic palettes range from $12-$23 with truly incredibly color payoff, creamy, blendable product.


I have tried other drugstore products such as Covergirl and Maybelline. Their prices are slightly cheaper than Colourpop's, YET they are chalky, hard to blend, and their shimmer doesn't really shout "glowing from within". If you're on a budget and want to give someone a palette that they will fall in love with instantly, truly any palette from Colourpop I would recommend as a gift.


Now that I am done ranting about how much I love Colourpop let's talk more about the Truly Madly Deeply palette. Traditionally, Colourpop's palettes are 12 pans and cost between $16-18. This 16 pan palette gives you more pigment add finish options. One of the newer finishes that they are adding in their palettes are glitter gels. HOLY SHIT!!! I cannot get enough of it (one of these finishes you can see in the picture as the white, glitter pigment). Before their Frozen 2 collection, you could only get these eyeshadows in their palettes.


The blush tones are becoming more of the 'nude' shades rather than brown/bronze shades. I think this is a healthy shift in the beauty community. We are all bored of a bronze eye and need more color and creativity.


I hope that this blog helped you think about what palettes to give as affordable Christmas gifts to those who are new to makeup or are already pro's!


19 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page