top of page
  • Writer's pictureSamantha Jean

BAR CRAWLING IN COMFORT

This has got to be one of the best weekends I've had in over a month since I moved into Des Moines, IA. Three weeks ago, I saw on FaceBook that a Onesie Bar Crawl was coming to the city and I really wanted to go with my best friends, Shayna and Kelsey (they live 2-4 hours away). They both agreed this would be a blast and Shayna's fiance decided to not take time off work and not participate.


OFFICIAL GIRLS WEEKEND!


Friday rolls around, and I am extremely excited to see my best friends since high school. They decide to get a hotel room at the Marriott since I am currently in between places and living in my sisters apartment. We are all so happy to see each other that we keep smiling for at least another hour since our arrival. We continue catching up on each of our lives and bull shitting around.


The next day, we ran some errands at the Jordan Creek Mall and had Raising Cane's (one of our favorite places to eat) for lunch. Kelsey, Shayna and I then go back to the hotel and procrastinated until registration at 6:00 pm. We watch this okay scary movie on Netflix called 'Terror'. It was cheesy, but it was definitely gruesome and had really good death scenes.



At 6:30 pm get our onesies on and we are ready to slay it at the bar scenes! I was a giraffe, Shayna a unicorn, and Kelsey a hedgehog.

First stop was Tonic bar where registration took place. Each of the bars had a music decade and that one was 80's. We decided not to stay at the bar because it was overcrowded for us.


The second bar was so much fun (I unfortunately cannot recall the name of this bar)! They had buy one get one drink for $1 and free nachos. The music decade was the 90's. This bar is where we got turnt up! We all had 2 drinks there and was feeling the nostalgic music. I should not have eaten the nachos which I will address later. Also, none of us had anything for supper so we can get drunk faster which in the long run (for me) was a god awful idea.


The third and final bar for us that night was VooDoo lounge. As you can probably guess, the music decade was 2000's. That place I was super drunk and was feeling it. I requested the DJ to play 'Wasn't Me' by Shaggy and everyone was feeling that song and it made me feel pumped. I got 2 drinks there and I only got halfway through the first one when my friends took me to the bathroom to puke (It's around 9:20 pm).


At this point, I am blacking out parts of the night. They call the valet service at the Marriott to come pick us up. When he came, we got in and they said I lasted about 1 1/2 blocks before I had to puke again, luckily making it outside the van. He then told us that he cannot drive us back because if I were to puke in the van it would be a high charge to our hotel bill.



I sat on the side of the street for a while and puked some more. When I decided I could walk, Kelsey holds my hand on the way back so I knew where to go. Once back at the hotel, the valet was glad to see us and apologized for not taking us back but didn't want to possibly charge us.


Kelsey and Shayna then take care of me and tell me to get in the shower. I stay in there and sleep on and off for 2 hours before Shayna got me out cause they were about to go to bed. At this point I have mostly sobered up. At 2:30 am, Kelsey and Shayna both wake up cause they feel nauseous and couldn't sleep.


The next morning, none of us were hungover (we typically never are) and I was asking them questions about the night before. We decided that even though we ended the night early that we had such a fantastic time and have to do another one. I was confused as to why I puked and got the worst upset stomach because we all drank the same amount. Conclusion, I drank faster than both of them and also ate more nachos. There was 2 bars that we did not go to. The fourth one actually got canceled because the event coordinators found out they were charging us a cover fee and told us they were no longer a part of the crawl. The fifth one had food specials which I wouldn't highly enjoyed if I didn't get drunk as fast as I did.


We had lunch at Ankeny Diner and all got breakfast food. It was so freaking good that I ate all of my breakfast skillet. I ended up not eating again after that but had a tall peppermint mocha from Starbucks. After lunch, we all went our separate ways and are excited to see each other again for another planned girls weekend in 2 weeks.


35 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page